Moving to Australia is an adventure, right?

“Moving to the other side of the world is such a brave thing to do. I couldn’t do it.”

I have heard these words, or similar, many times since I moved to Australia in July 2016. Words of admiration for this ‘bravery’. The idea that moving to another country is an adventure in and of itself. I have recently come to the realisation that this is not in fact true. Life only becomes an adventure when you get out there and discover the world. Otherwise, you are just living the same life that you had back home, with a different view from your living room window. I was doing the same things, just in a warmer climate.

I decided that I had been presented with an amazing opportunity and I should be taking advantage of all that it had to offer. I had to get out there. But where to start? Combined with this desire to discover my surroundings came an understanding that being fitter would help me achieve this goal. I had very little awareness of just how active (or inactive) I was until I got my Fitbit Alta.

fitbit

The sense of achievement you feel when the fitness device on your wrist announces that you have reached your 10,000 step target really shouldn’t be underestimated! Nor should the motivation to reach that target in as interesting a manner as possible. I want to see as much of this world as possible. Why not make it fun for myself and my family? And so the idea for my blog was born. To discover the Hunter Region and  NSW and Australia and the world in general 10,000 steps at a time! Keep checking back to hear about my travel and fitness goals. Your daily step target needn’t be boring. Why not discover the world 10,000  steps at a time?

3 thoughts on “Moving to Australia is an adventure, right?

  1. You have hit the nail on the head. The adventure lies in doing new things and making the most of your lovely surroundings .It lies in meeting new people and making the effort to do something different. It lies in immersing yourself in another culture. You and the family have a wonderful opportunity to do new things and see another world ,well outside the front window. If I wasn’t an oldie I would be there. Vive la “blog”…..I look forward to many more instalments which will fill me with both joy and jealousy in turn….You go girl…..

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

